Saudi Arabia Announces Islamic Military Coalition to Fight Terrorism

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia announced on Tuesday the formation of a 34-state Islamic military coalition to combat terrorism.

A joint statement said the military alliance will be led by Saudi Arabia, with a joint operations center based in Riyadh to coordinate and support military operations to fight terrorism and develop the necessary programs and mechanisms for supporting these efforts. The statement cited a duty to protect the Islamic nation from the evils of all terrorist groups.

At a press conference following the announcement, the Second Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman said the campaign would coordinate efforts to fight terrorism in Iraq, Syria, Libya, Egypt and Afghanistan.

“The coalition will fight every terrorist organization, not only Daesh,” said Prince Mohammed. “We [the coalition] will develop efforts to fight terrorism on an ideological, media and security level.”

Countries participating in the alliance are:  Jordan, United Arab Emirates, Pakistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Turkey, Chad, Togo, Tunisia, Djibouti, Senegal, Sudan, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Gabon, Guinea, Palestine, Comoros, Qatar, Cote d’Ivoire, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Maldives, Mali, Malaysia, Egypt, Morocco, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, and Yemen. More than ten other Islamic countries have also expressed their support for this alliance.


Source: Royal Embassy of Saudi Arabia